Connecting with and messaging other attendees in different ways are essential for many events. Networking is a perfect way to let participants connect at physical events via a QR-code directly on your mobile. It also works great at digital events. Messaging & Networking are closely connected in such a way that the functions interact with each other. Therefore, these settings are grouped together in the project settings.
Tip: You can watch a demo of Networking here.
Whether people should be able to send messages to each other or not. If this setting is switched on, there are three different choices.
All participants have the right to send messages to each other. However, they will not be able to find each other in all situations unless Networking is also switched on. If you have E-meet (video conference) switched on, you can see the participants who are currently in the same meeting/channel as you are. You can then send messages to these participants via the E-meet menu (the right side menu in the participant view). A new function is that you can send direct messages to other participants by clicking on their names in a chat.
Connected (Only possible in combination with Networking) =
Participants have the right to send messages to other participants with whom they are connected in Networking (rules on how to connect another participant are set under Networking).
Participants do not have the right to send messages to each other. This also applies if Networking is switched on, via E-meet or via name link in chats. Project moderators ALWAYS have the right to send private messages to participants regardless of settings.
Networking means that people can connect with each other. When a connection is made, the participants can download each other’s data locally (V-card) on their mobile or computer to their contacts. They can also send private messages to each other (provided that messaging is not set to “never”). A prerequisite for being able to have Networking activated is that messaging is switched on (however, messaging can be set to never, which results in people not being able to send messages to each other via Networking).
It is enough that one of the participants wants to connect to another. Whoever gets connected receives a notification that participant X has connected with them.
Both participants must say that they want to connect. A request is sent and the participant who receives the request must approve for the connection to take place.
Always visible =
With this setting, everyone can see each other and download each other’s contact information.
Important: With “Always visible” all participants are pre-connected, this results in you not being able to get any data about how many have connected.
This setting is if you want a neat arrangement of all participants in a card index, but without further functionality. Like a cadastre.